relax, smile & be inspired

Little Boy Close Your Eyes

Written by Caleb age 8. About dreams when you sleep at night

Little Boy Close Your Eyes

I roll into my bed
Covers over my head
Rolled up like a cocoon
In my mountain of covers

Slowly closing my eye
The sprinkled diamond dust
Trickles down from the heavens above
Making my eyes so heavy and tick
Sending me away
To my dream land Kingdom

When I fall to sleep
I dream of images
That dance in my head
Behind my close eyes
No stars can I see

In my dreams the images
Come to me
I am the King
Of this foreign land

I fight the dragons
And protect the lands
My Kingdom bows down before me
All clapping and shouting
When the dragon is defeated

In the morning hours
It is hard to open my eyes
My dreams will be gone forever
Hiding in my dream land Kingdom
Behind my star dust filled eyes.

Comments on: "Little Boy Close Your Eyes" (16)

  1. Excellent job, Caleb! This is my favorite line: “My Kingdom bows down before me”

  2. well done… keep writing…I loved
    In my dreams the images come to me…

  3. What lovely prose from you Caleb and of course your dreams can take you anywhere your mind wishes you to go it’s so nice to see that you have beautiful dreams.
    Very nice writing, your Grammy is right to ask you to keep writing, and, sharing your words. đŸ™‚

  4. Caleb, your poem is simply wonderful. When we create with our thoughts, these thoughts go out and affect the world. When we have beautiful, loving thoughts, we send loving energy to the world. When we are angry and do negative things, we send negative energy into the world. Here is an interesting video about Dr. Emoto that shows how our thoughts have the power to change things.
    http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=2&ved=0CCAQtwIwAQ&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DtAvzsjcBtx8&ei=5yVeTtOpJuH40gGyj_XiAg&usg=AFQjCNELKJ716rWUgGGyRKCzGKXiT19HdA&sig2=-okmegtezinCBcpDLOdoFw

    I tell you this, because you have written a beautiful poem. Now it is on the Internet so all of us can enjoy it. See you sent out something beautiful that you created with your imagination. You gave the world some loving, beautiful energy. You are a creator. Thank you for sharing this remarkable poem with me. Hugs from Brazil, pat

    • Thank you Pat. I have made some other poem that Grammy Ann has posted on this site. She is so proud of me and my sisters and loves to share our poems here. I am having a lot of fun to write for the blog site now. I like it when Grammy Ann loves what I write and shares it with everyone. Caleb

  5. This is a great poem, Caleb. I love heroic poetry and I thought your last line was truly excellent.

    • Thank again Richard. I sometimes have a harder time to get Caleb to express himself but when he does he really does a good job. I was happy with this poem he wrote and it was very exciting to see him take a lot of time to write it.

  6. “Behind my star dust filled eyes” – loved that line. Good job, Caleb!

  7. Excellent! Eight? I was too busy climbing trees and falling out of them I think. Certainly not ‘prose’ as one comment says above, fully versified poetry. A pulling the lines together then having some stanza-breaks would strengthen the content and aid readability in my opinion.

    Excellent work, Caleb!

    I roll into my bed
    Covers over my head
    Rolled up like a cocoon

    In my mountain of covers
    Slowly closing my eye
    The sprinkled diamond dust

    Trickles down from the heavens above
    Making my eyes so heavy and tick
    Sending me away

    To my dream land Kingdom
    When I fall to sleep
    I dream of images

    That dance in my head
    Behind my close eyes
    No stars can I see

    In my dreams the images
    Come to me
    I am the King

    Of this foreign land
    I fight the dragons
    And protect the lands

    My Kingdom bows down before me
    All clapping and shouting
    When the dragon is defeated

    In the morning hours
    It is hard to open my eyes
    My dreams will be gone forever

    Hiding in my dream land Kingdom
    Behind my star dust filled eyes.

    or perhaps (merely suggestions of course) –

    I roll into my bed
    Covers over my head
    Rolled up like a cocoon
    In my mountain of covers

    Slowly closing my eye
    The sprinkled diamond dust
    Trickles down from the heavens above
    Making my eyes so heavy and thick
    Sending me away
    To my dream land Kingdom

    When I fall to sleep
    I dream of images
    That dance in my head
    Behind my close eyes

    No stars can I see
    In my dreams the images

    Come to me
    I am the King
    Of this foreign land
    I fight the dragons
    And protect the lands

    My Kingdom bows down before me
    All clapping and shouting
    When the dragon is defeated

    In the morning hours
    It is hard to open my eyes
    My dreams will be gone forever
    Hiding in my dream land Kingdom
    Behind my star dust filled eyes.

    • Thank you so much Luke this does break up the poem and make it easier to follow. I will try and edit the poem here and see if I can get it to format better on here. I like this idea. I just left it like he had it on his paper and posted it here. I thoght he did a good job but I like your formatting better.

  8. oops I meant this for Stanzas 4, 5 (and optionally 6 put with 5) in the second example above –

    No stars can I see
    In my dreams the images
    Come to me

    I am the King
    Of this foreign land
    I fight the dragons
    And protect the lands
    My Kingdom bows down before me
    All clapping and shouting
    When the dragon is defeated

    • This is a very good idea on this. I like what you have done. I am so happy for the idea and suggestion on this. It makes it look a lot better. For some reason on this account when I try to format the work it seems to skip one line in between making it so spaced out. I do not like the formatting on this so much. I will see how I can work with this and make it format better. Thank you so much for suggesting this. I love this idea and how it makes it go together so much easier.

Leave a Reply

