relax, smile & be inspired

Haggle Baggily

Written by Ann LeFlore. The poem was inspired by a story a good friend of mine told to me. She explained that when a day was a total loss she called it a Haggle Baggily day. This inspired me to write this poem in her honor.

Haggle Baggily

 

A day that was meant to be
A loss for all we see
The morning rise
Is wonderful as can be

As the day goes by
Nothing can be
The hours of the clock
Turn too fast

 Start one task
The wine flask cracks
Loosing your place
Thoughts lost in space

Onto the next page
Flipping too fast
The days flies by
Before you know it
You are left holding the pie

 All the things that should have been
Sit in piles
As the day folds in
We are dressed and ready to go

 But this or that
Has taken its toll
We can’t get out the door
One thing leads to another

 Before we know
The sun is down
And we are still holding the crown
Sitting in the golden chair

Not knowing how we got there
We sat there by the hours
That flew so fast
The sands of the hour glass
Are gone at lass

The door sits closed
The night’s settled in
The day was a loss

Nothing was meant to be
When Haggle Baggily
Came to visit me

 

Comments on: "Haggle Baggily" (110)

  1. the days fly by and we’re left holding the pie 🙂 that made me smile
    Enjoy gooseberry day!!!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/09/05/square-one/

  2. your words speak beautifully.
    well done.

  3. I love this! Especially this stanza:

    “All the things that should have been
    Sit in piles
    As the day folds in
    We are dressed and ready to go”

    “as the day folds in” is a really great line. Unfortunately, I am visited by this fiend far too frequently, stealing my days away before they are allowed to be.

  4. Wonderful poem…thank you for sharing.

  5. Fun poem about something that happens to us all, though not so much now…a gift of age and a wee bit of wisdom. Thanks! hugs, pat

    • You are so wonderful Pat. I love your site and all your poems and work on there. It is such a pleasure to go there and read. Thanks for stopping by here and reading.

  6. wallflowerinthecity said:

    Fabulous! I love that you and your friend found humor in haggle baggily days. : )

  7. P.S. That’s me, thingy : )

  8. i actually love those days… the one you describe. definitely not a loss! (a necessary part of life… )

  9. manicddaily said:

    Love as the day folds in.

  10. Sit in piles
    As the day folds in
    We are dressed and ready to go

    very good laundry references

  11. Ann, Man have I had days like that! Now I know what to call them,lol! Great poem. Blessings…

  12. wow…those days…we all have them. expressed very well in your poem. wonderful write!
    thank you for your visit

  13. Your poem made me smile :o) Very nicely done!

  14. Interesting term to describe a ‘crazy’ day. But…you can start your day over at any time you wish! Nice write!

    • Yes this one is so true but some days it is not so easy to start them over and you have to wait until they are done and go on the next day and try to make up for this one

  15. A.B. Thomas said:

    I loved the frivolity and playfulness of it

    • Thank you I thought it was funny when my friend told me about this day and what she called it. I kept thinking about this and came up with this poem to describe such a day

  16. you surely brought a smile on my face when reading this – i do have such days, as everybody else, and after reading this poem of yours i’m sure i’ll remember it each time i have one 🙂

  17. fabulous write on a feeling explained by another person……could feel the intense love of yours for the poetry…thanks for share:-)
    Haggle Baggily _ loved this name..

  18. This was fun to read! 🙂

  19. Great poem. I really enjoyed it. Very well structured.

  20. This is a true fact, time and days can pass us by and leave us wondering too many forgotten moments.

  21. Janrae Mendoza said:

    nice imagery and message you got there 🙂

  22. Nice…good to see you coin your friend’s story into a poem.

    Cheers!

  23. yes, it’s frustrating– fun write though!

  24. I always wonder why some days are so productive and others so… Haggle Baggily. Very enjoyable!

    • Yes we all have our Haggle Baggily days and I laughed so hard when my friend told me of this. It was becasue of this I got the idea to write this poem. I thought it would be fun to do this and a challenge to see if it could happen.

  25. This just made me smile and laugh so hard out loud! Yes, it is true. When the Haggle Baggily comes to visit, it just ruins all my hopes for the day. One true thing about these days is that they are always a waste of make-up that got put on at the top of the morning.
    And thank you so much for writing this, Ann. It’s wonderful. To all readers, please keep in mind to rhyme Haggle with Baggily like Haggely Baggily! That’s how I made it up!

    • This was for you and your explaination of what a wasted day was. I had such a good laugh at this and kept thinking of it for so long. I could not get it out of my head. I had to wrtie this and dedicate it to you. I am so happy that you like this so much and found it enjoyable. I just thought it was a very funny way to explain a wasted day and how nothing gets done at all this day.

  26. Very true and relatable poem, well said!

  27. This was really fun to read! Actually I love days that were planned and turn direction. It keeps it all interesting. Looks like you had fun writing this. FUN!

    • yes I did and I had a good laugh when my friend told me the story. I love to think about real life stories and see what I can do with them. This one did turn out well and I think it was a fun poem

  28. Love the ending. Fun to say.

  29. Hi Sarah, that’s a lovely poem…now I know that Haggle has been visiting me on those days. Haha, nice way of putting it. But I’m glad when Ann Leflore has been visiting my blogs and leaves me a comment. That’s an Ann Leflore day! 🙂
    Rosie

    • Thank you Rosie. Ann LeFlore loves to visit so many people’s blog and leave a comment. She loves to read all the poems and enjoys blogging so much. She is the one who wrote this poem here and a few others. This is sort of a all for one type of a blog site she even has the children post on here and submit works for all to read. thank you for dropping by.

  30. such a lovely poem 🙂 thanks for sharing.

  31. lovely day! Thanks for the new terms that made me smile 🙂

  32. Like one of those funny dreams where you are treading in sand and nothing gets done.

  33. I’m having a Haggle Baggily week–thanks for the encouragement.

    • I am so sorry to hear this one. Hope that Haggle Baggily will get tired of visiting you really soon and pack up her bags and move on. Thank you so much for your visit I loved your blog site.

  34. Sarah, you describe a picture!!. I love the pace of your poem.

    And…, thanks for visiting my virtual home.

  35. This had a Bilbo Baggins way of putting things in perspective…I sure know the haggle baggily visitor well enough Ann…thanks for taking the time to visit and comment. 🙂

  36. i loved it!
    and with this story… 🙂
    thanks for visiting! xxx

  37. enjoyed it,

    thanks for sharing how a story could inspire.

  38. A wonderful tribute to your your friend’s “day.” And to your friend.

  39. Amazing write ! Love this….

  40. What a great, fun write in honor of your friend’s lost days. An enjoyable and entertaining read!

  41. Janrae Mendoza said:

    I love the imagery and how you wrote the poem. Every phrase is fantastic. I love it specially the message 😀

  42. A wonderful description of those days that go awry. Good job!

  43. Well now, it seems you turned a bad day into good fun. Nicely done! 🙂

  44. what everyone else said:)

  45. anjum wasim dar said:

    Great poem, highly realistic and deeply enjoyable .Thank you for visiting and reading my work .I agree and I once wrote ‘Changes tell us the time’ but for a Day, this is really a wonderful writeup.

    • Thank you so much. I loved your blog and will have to come back and see if I can find this one and read it. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment here for me

  46. Some days, it’s not so bad staying inside. Oh, every day’s a good day. Yes, it is. I don’t mind those Haggle Baggily days, just as long as they only come ’bout once a week. Clever write, Sarah.

  47. Hahaha! this brought a smile to my face.. don’t we all have a Haggle Baggily day..!
    I am going to use this term for the rest of my life….! Thank you very much!

    well written indeed! 🙂

  48. Super enjoyable poem … I want to keep saying “Haggle Baggily” over
    and over ain like a little kid. Fun write …
    Very Nice,
    Isadora

    • Thank you so much and glad that this was a funny poem and you enjoyed it so much. I think you are not the only one who can not get this out of their head. I know I keep thinking of this even now after my friend told me of this day

  49. There are many meant-to-be-deep poems around.. sometimes a simple idea such as this can create a gem.. it reminds me of John Lennon’s quote “Life is what happens whilst you’re busy making other plans”..

    • Yes this one is so true. I like the light hearted poem this one turned out to be. I had a good time writing this one and found it so interesting a subject. I laughted so hard when my friend told me of this and had to see what I could do with it. Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and stopping by to read this.

  50. who doesn’t love pie?

  51. I loved this, and I’ll remember the Haggle Baggily when I have one of those days again! Thanks for sharing your link with me, so glad to have found you.

    • I am so happy to have found you and read your wonderful blog. You do excellent work and love your site so much. I am glad that you decided to stop by here and read this and leace a comment. This is so wonderful and thank you so much for stopping by here.

  52. Its true that time speeds by, and when we sit and look back, we should have some colorful memories- the reason why we all blog! When I read yr ‘About’ I was reminded of my granny who also used to encourage me to write poems. I feel there is no one so close to me in this world now.
    Wonderful post Sarah.

    • Thank you so much. My daughter Ann wrote this post. She is writing on here and so are the two Great Grand children. I love to write some stories on here. I have my cooking blog and write on it and try to find the time to keep it updated all the time. But this is a lot of work and at the same time a lot of fun. I am happy that you stopped by and visited and I look forward to seeing you again and reading more of your wonderful words.

  53. You make the day better and brighter.

    • Yes this is funny and it does make a good poem to write about. I think when my friend told me of this story I laughted so hard and had to write this poem about a day that was not to be

Leave a Reply

