relax, smile & be inspired

The Sorrow of our Times

Written by Ann LeFlore for the family of Colonel Joseph Bowers MIA in Vietnam

The Sorrow of our Times

Holy Father in Heaven above
Protect the men that we do love
Bless our children’s innocent face
Keep them safe in this unknown place
May they know that we are there
Holding hands in silent prayers

 Holy Father in Heaven above
You created him for me to love
You picked him out from all the rest
Because you know I’d love him best

 Holy Father in Heaven above
Look upon his innocent face
Protect his soul from his fears
Let him shed no more tears

 Holy Father in Heaven above
Take my son to thy above
Cleans his soul for what he’s done
Keep him safe for years to come

 Holy Father in Heaven above
Keep my son safe for me
Let him look from Heaven above
Knowing we are there to love

 Holy Father in Heaven above
Keep his memories safe with me
His touches so soft and kind
Will stay with me to the end of time

The 20 year war that started on November 1, 1955 ended on April 20, 1975 with the fall of Saigon. The war claimed more than 59,000 American men’s life. As the years raged on so did the protest and sit-ins for the anti war efforts in the United States. I was volunteering with my girlfriend from High School at the local MIA/POW office in our town. Her Mother worked at the office and we went each day after school to sell POW and MIA bracelets. As part of this effect in High School if we wore a POW or MIA bracelet we were required to write a poem, letter, or story to the POW or MIA family. My family I decided to write a small letter and enclose this poem for their son. I was inspired to write this poem after reading the one written by Daniel Steel. We carried this poem in our pockets and wore our POW and MIA bracelets. Ann was 15 when she wrote this poem and mailed it off to her MIA family.

 

Comments on: "The Sorrow of our Times" (55)

  1. Really, this is so sweet…a prayer written by one so young, yet with such understanding of what is happening in the world now, and in the hereafter. And WWII, Vietnam, and all the way back to the story of ‘Cain and Abel’ WOW. Guess as long as Satan lives with us, there will be no lasting peace…

    Thank you for well-written, meaningful poetry, and comments
    PEACE!

    • You are so welcome Steve. Ann wrote this poem in 1973 and I have had it all these years. She was into the war efforts and was my little hippy child. I am so happy that she found the war efforts and wrote this to her MIA family. Thank you for stopping by and you are so welcome

  2. A beautiful prayer.. May He always protect us all and keep our loved ones in safety.

    Thank you for sharing this.

    • You are welcome Heven. I am trying now to get through all the posts here and read each entry to the link I will be by your blog soon and read your entry. I do love your blog so much thank you for your lovely comment and I am so happy that you stopped by

  3. Laurie Kolp said:

    Sara- A universal prayer that can apply to so many different situations… beautiful.

    • Hi Laurie I think you are right on this one. Anytime a loved one is taken off to war or to another place we all think and pray for them to come home safe. If they are lost we pray that they are in peace now and that we will never forget thier memory

  4. this is lovely…in its own context but also in the broad canvas of the world…really a beautiful prayer…and i echo….

    • Thank you so much Brian I loved it way back then and I still love it today. Ann loved the war efforts and this was all she talked about. For years I did not know of this poem and she gave it to me one day. I wanted to share it on this day for all to read. Thank you so much

  5. this was very touching sarah..what a beautiful and powerful prayer

    • Claudia I loved your poem so much and how heart warming it was. I am so happy that you stopped by here to read this poem and thank you so much. Ann wrote this as a school assignment back in 1973 and mailed it to the family of the MIA who she wore on her arm. I love this poem and wanted to share it with everyone on this special day. Thank you so much

  6. I too volenteered at a MIA/POW office and sold those copper braclets and wore two of them. Thank you for reminding us about that era. Your poem made me break out in tears. Very compelling!

    • This was my favoriate time of the day after school to run to the MIA/POW office and get a bag full of braclets and run up and down the main street and talk to everyone and sell one to them. We use to come back empty handed and our pockets full of money to turn in. We sold all our braclets each day. I remember one very old grandma asking me what she would do with one of the braclets and I told her she would put it on her fire place and when she walked by and look at it say a silent prayer for her person to bring him home safe. She took one from us and gave a donation to us at the same time for being so sweet. Thank you so much for your lovely comment

  7. Very moving, and even more so when given the context.
    Time ticks on and runs it race, but change does not follow at that pace.

  8. Very, very touching and so applicable to today, too.
    In response to your comment on mine, peace has to begin in our homes. Parents must teach their children to love and have compassion fo all mankind, not jsut their own nations but, every nation. One by one we are starting to wake up to the fact that we are all one race, the human race and we all need each other if we hope to survive (as a species) but, it has to be taught to the children, everywhere, of all races, religions, without exception. for the past 150 years it seems money has become the new ‘God’ and money = power. If parents hand down their prejudices to their children they simply repeat the cycle of hatred, which is waht’s happening in the world now. But, I have hope and I believe that love (in the end) will win, despite mankind’s modern day foolishness.

    • You are so right. When I grew up I was taught to love everyone and respect everyone. I was taught that the no matter what religion, race, or color you were we were all put here for one reason and that was to love each other and help each other out. I think these values are so important and it is so important to teach this to our children. Thank you so much for your heart filled comment I really admire you and what you have to say.

  9. Wow, this literally gave me chills as I was reading. So sweet and touching. What a great service, and so thoughtful.

    • Thank you so much. I wanted to do my part in the war and when we were given this assignment I thought it was great. I could express my feeling of how I felt for everyone who lost their life and I could not think of how it would of been over there. it was so sad as all great wars and events such as 911 this will never leave our minds ever.

  10. manicddaily said:

    Terrible sadness of both the Vietnam War and the MIAs. I had a friend whose father was an MIA–her sister continued to look for him in S.E. Asia for many many years. Very very sad.

    • This is so sad. Some believe that they are still there in the jungle hidding and afraid to come out. I am not sure if this is true. Maybe they found peace and a wife and have a new family over there. I wish all who were lost could be found and brought home again to their familes. Now I am not sure if this could happen or not. thank you for your comment

  11. This is beautiful, Ann. I’m so glad you posted this one.

  12. A beautiful, touching prayer poem, thankyou for sharing!

  13. My 5th grade teacher’s son served in Vietnam and our class regularly wrote letters to him and received letters from him, until he returned home safely. This is a lovely prayer for a soldier in harm’s way.

  14. Such a compelling piece that resounds with each war we face. Beautifully written by one so young. Shows a deep understanding.

    • Yes I was young when I wrote this only 15 but the years have passed and I still think of him now and then and think of how or where he could be now. I also think of this day 10 years back and where I was and what I was thinking when I saw it on TV

  15. Sarah this is really beautiful, a prayer I want to keep. It adds hope in the peaceful future of any confict.

    Take care and keep smiling. ❤

    • Thank you Kenia I would love for you to keep a copy of this prayer that Ann wrote to her MIA back in 1973. I hope that you will keep this with you as she carried one with her that Daniel Steel wrote about the men in Nam she still has this one today and on the same paper she wrote it on when it was passed around her school

  16. Thank you for this heart felt poem.

  17. This is beautiful. I wished to write something today inspired by one of the Psalms, but have not managed to table that part of me that still questions. This was a welcomed way to look at things. Thank you ~

    • You are welcome and I hope that you can write your poem based on Psalms and express your feelings. This one is hard to do and I think if you look deep inside of you this one can happen and when it does please come here and post a link for me so I can come back and read it. I would like to read this when you are done. Thank you so much

  18. Lovely piece and very touching indeed. Really does echo throughout current world events too.

  19. Such a beautiful prayer. Thank you for sharing it 🙂

  20. A heartfelt prayer – thank you for sharing

  21. What a beautiful poem, and written by one so young! Lovely.

  22. A beautiful pray and tribute ….nobody can replace a child no matter what age but words do help and am sure they helped his mother ….lovely but sad ..thank you x

    • You are so welcome and yes I did get a letter back from his Mom for many years we kept in touch and she said that she loved the poem so much and was so happy I had her sons name on my arm

  23. Being a retired miltary man I can appreciate this piece. Beautiful. Nicely writtten Ann.
    ~JD
    http://jdr-beaudoin.blogspot.com/2011/09/shadow-play.html

    • Thank you so much. I will stop by and read your piece and leave you a note on this one. thank you once again for stopping by and reading

    • “My Last Duchess” by Robert Browning is supposed to be read ltlareily. The literal meaning or what actually happens in the poem is quite simple. The Duke of Ferrara is showing a picture of his last wife to his potential suitor’s father. The Duke begins by reminiscing on his last wife and tells the father that she was not a good wife. His last wife used to flirt with anyone she saw and did not care about keeping the good family name. Then the Duke tells the father that he actually ended up killing his wife “I gave commands/ Then all smiles stopped together”. Then as like snapping out of a trance, the Duke starts entertaining the suitor’s father by talking about all his other paintings, acting like killing his wife was no big deal.

  24. so moving and insightful from one so young… and so universal and pertinent even today.

    • Thank you so much I loved to write this poem to the family and they were so happy to receiver it. I think it was a time in life that people had a lot of love in their hearts even for someone they did not know. We were given the assignment in school and it showed that we all cared for the men who were fighting in Vietnam and the ones who were MIA or POW there. I am glad that you stopped by and read ths. Thank you again.

  25. It’s “Open Link Night” at dversepoets.com. Do you have time to link up, Ann?

  26. The marks of wars are left all over the world, through time and distance, reminding only of the people lost in battles. May all soldier be blessed and protected and even better … let it be a world without wars … Lovely poem!

    • Yes any way leaves behind thier marks and at times I wish they would not have wars but for some reason from the beginning of time there has always been some war here or there for one reason or another.

  27. This is so wonderfully written.
    Your words are filled with so much love and care

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

