relax, smile & be inspired

Limerick Madness

The Purple Tree House http://purpletreehouse.blogspot.com/  is hosting limerick week. Limericks are fun five line nonsense rhymes where the first, second and fifth line rhyme and the third and fourth line rhyme. Try one of your own limericks and post it here in comments. This is a fun way to laugh and express yourself.

A Dog named Dole

A Dog Named Dole

I once knew a dog named Dole
He chanced his tail and climbed a pole
He barked all day
Rolling in the hay
Until he jumped and fell in a hole

 

********************************************

 

Cat Named Jack

A Cat Named Jack

I once knew a cat named Jack
He was hit in the head with a smack
He rolled on the ground
Chasing a hound
Until he stumbled and fell on his back

*********************************************

A Man Named Snapple

I once knew a man named Snapple
He rolled on the ground chasing apples
He chased them to eat
By the balls of his feet
Until he ran home to the chapel

**********************************************

My Grand Pappy

A Man Named Happy

I once knew a man named Happy
He was my old Grand Pappy
He was never on time
Till he fell on a dime
Now he dresses real snappy

***********************************************

A Woman Named Sal

I once knew a woman named Sal
She was my very best pal
She escaped one day
In a truck full of hay
And now she’s best friend with Val

****************************************************

A Man Named Oren

I once knew a man named Oren
He loved to be so foreign
He stepped on some corn
And blew out his horn
And now they call him Warren

********************************************

A Dog Called Dung

A Dog Called Dung

I once had a dog called Dung
He had the longest tongue
He rolled and played
In the sewer all day
And now he has an iron lung

**********************************************

Tootless Old Hound

I once knew a toothless old hound
Who loved to roll on the ground
He rolled in the grass
To scratch his rash
Until one day they took him to the pound

Comments on: "Limerick Madness" (31)

  1. amazing sets of Limerick,

    love them all, you rock.

    • This is very new to me. I have never tried this before and I decided to test my hand at a few of them. It was very fun and I had a great time writing some. I think once you get started it is easy to get addicted and want to write more and more of them. Thanks for reading these and stopping by

  2. outstanding.
    wow.

    you rocked on all of these.
    🙂

  3. wow! good limericks!!

  4. I wish my first limericks had gone this well.

    • This is funny I have never done a limericks before and decided to try a few of them. Before I knew it I had a lot of them and decided to post a few here for the limericks week. I am so glad you liked them and stopped by to read them

  5. you inspired me, wow.

    way too cool.

  6. Good to see you limericking up a storm! Hope to see you at my weekly Limerick-Offs! 🙂

  7. Great array of limericks. It is very witty. Not many can just go into it and hope it works.
    Yours showed that special talent to have.

    Hank

  8. This is perfect, Ann!!! I needed a good laugh. Thank you so much for proving that poetry can be happy and funny. : )

    • Shawna glad that you got a good laugh on this. I had some fun making these up snd trying to see how they worked. I tried to follow the rules of making limerick and I think I did OK on them.

  9. impressive, you rocked on this.

  10. The Gooseberry Garden said:
  11. Wonderful imagination..I think you more than pass for a limerickensian….Especially love mr snapple (as name is snape!) and those naughty dogs!!

    • Thank you so much Geraldine Snape this is so wonderful that you stopped by and read the limericks. I have never done any before and it was fun to try my hand at a few of them. Thye are very interesting to write and it was quite a different challenge to do a few of them

  12. You’ve done very well, Sarah–these are fun!

    • Thank you so much I am so happy that you like them. I will be by your site and read yours I love reading all entries and the hard work people put into their posts.

  13. Marvelous limericks! I didn’t know they were supposed to be funny verses though. Oh well, maybe next time I’ll do it that way, lol. Blessings, Terri

    • I am not sure either. I just read what a limerick was and tried to follow the format. I read that they were funny and most were dirty by what they said. So I just tried a few of them and came up with these. It is my first time to ever write one so I am not sure what the format or like you said what they are to be funny, or not funny. Thank you so much

  14. You sure have the right idea. They should be snappy and funny. The number of beats to the line is important in making a limerick easily readable. I’ve been writing for a zillion years and I still count out the beats on my fingers or on a piece of scrap paper. 9-9-5-5-9 seems to work best:
    “There once was a boy from Nantucket
    He smoked, so he soon kicked the bucket
    We all heard him sigh
    From heaven on high…
    (and then the last line – 9 beats – uses the classic limerick rhyme to go with Nantucket, so we won’t bother with it here in this example)
    I think you could have a lot of fun with this verse form, especially if you make them family-friendly and know some 8, 9 and 10-year-olds.

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

    • Thank you so much Kay I had never written one before and tried a few here for the first time. I will try your idea next and see how they turn out. this one should be fun

  15. hello sarah john ….
    just a strike with ur name so i tried 😛
    though is not as good as u wrote 🙂 check it out

    a poet called john;
    he used great tone;
    with a happy pun;
    won hearts with fun!

    enjoyed every poem very nice with good rhythmic effect

  16. perfect talent shown here, smiles.

    keep it up.

Leave a Reply

