relax, smile & be inspired

Written by: Ann LeFlore; for Gooseberry Garden, poetry picnic week 7 Love and loss.

Memories and Photographs of You

 Memories and photographs
Remind me of the past
The days so long ago
The images fly through like a picture show

We walked through the meadows
Sunrise falling upon our faces
Holding hands collecting leaves
Between our strolling feet

Kicking the gray stone rocks
The tiny pebbles roll under our feet
You grasp my tiny little hand
With your weather beaten sandy grip

Smiling down upon my face
As I look into your sky blue eyes
I see the love wrinkles upon your face
The cherish look that shines with grace

So tiny I am next to thee
Your splendid grace is all I see
You are there for me
With silent laughter and unspoken words

I remember this meadow when I close my eye
I see this memory in the photograph I have
The tatter edges and faded images
Is all I have left of you

I close my eye and fade away
To the dream land meadows
The sky opens up and shines upon me
As my eyes drift away to the past

Memories of  holding hands with you
Picking flowers in the summer grass
Skipping rocks across the path
Rolling and tumbling down the hills

You were always there for me
Catching me as I ran past
Chasing me though the trees
Swatting butterflies and bees

As I slip away to a dream filled sleep
I can see into your eyes
Looking deep within I see
They are angles dancing at me

The tear stained tattered photograph
Starts to take on a new image of you
The faded memories are gone at last
The images that dance before my eyes
Are angles of  you in the sky

Comments on: "Memories and Photographs of You" (106)

  1. Beautiful…especially liked the last stanza.

    • Thank you Dad I thought love and loss should be a memory of one that has gone before us. I know when I see love asnd loss it has to do with relationships that have gone bsd for some reason and this was a different way to remember one that we love so much

  2. Beautiful write. Full of obvious love and emotion. Very well done!

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/two-yearning-heart/

  3. Such sweet and cherished memories of love and inspiration … beautifully written!

  4. Oh my, what a wonderful poem of love, admiration and wonderful memories. I hope you don’t mind, but you took me with you on this journey.

  5. Hello.
    You obviously loved your grandpa very much and it comes across in this poem.

    Beautiful expressions.

    Thanks so much for sharing & for the visit too. Much appreciated.

    Unchain My Heart

  6. Especially like the last line with the play on angels–nicely done 🙂

    • Thank you so much. It just seems like a nice ending that angles are dancing in the sky for the ones that we love and hae left us already and are waiting for us in a new world

  7. A beautiful poem….I lost my dad this year…your words brought back sweet memories of him…thank you

  8. A very beautiful poem! 🙂
    Enjoyed reading it. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Beautiful, cherished memories of a life well lived. I love your poem my friend, nicely done!

  10. A grandpa is more endearing than a daddy, He is even on your side when daddy is displeased with you. He sees no wrong in you. In fact, he’ll go out of his to buy you things,small simple things. It is not spoiling you but rewarding you for your warm companionship.He’ll teach you things,simple things, things you don’t get in your PS2 or X-Box. He’ll make simple toys like wooden cars which you would treasure over the remote control one dad bought. You forget him that easy? Not on your life!

    You described it perfectly in your verse Sarah! I’m just adding in a bit more!

    Hank

    • Thank you so much Hank you are so right. What do they say that Grandparents get a second chance to be parents. More years and wisdom and the time they need to be a great grandparent to be with you and teach you all they wished they had time to teach their children when they were growing up. They get to do it all over again and in a different special way.

  11. Simply beautiful! I love the last line the most!! Such sweet sentiment expressed. Blessings, Terri

  12. A lovely poem. It brought tears to my eyes as I read it. Aren’t we lucky to have photos and videos of our loved ones to help us remember them…

  13. remembering the ones that took care of you, a granpa is someone special to hav ein any little girls life… 🙂

  14. This is a wonderful tribute full of memories, beautiful poem!

  15. really beautiful and the end is very nice

    • Thank you so much swanrose yes in the end when they are gone and we look back into their eyes we xan see angles dancing in the skies that is the memories they leave behind for us to see

  16. This very visual poem is evocative of so many memories of my own. Your images are stunning:

    “Kicking the gray stone rocks
    The tiny pebbles roll under our feet”

    “Holding hands collecting leaves
    Between our strolling feet”

    And there are so many more………You have truly painted a picture with your words, and your love for your grandfather, you have shared with us. This is wonderful.

    Namaste………cj

    • Yes growing up there was so many more memories but the photograph I picked was this and it reflected the walks we had together. Thank you and I hope you have as many memories of your grandpa

  17. Janrae Mendoza said:

    wow this is cool… my memories is brought back because of this…thanks…wonderful piece…

  18. You must have loved your grandfather very much. It’s deeply moving and beautiful to see it here.

  19. Beautiful work……..as always you work is full of light and full of heart!

  20. This is beautiful and evocative, Sarah! I’m sure it brings grandfathers to mind to all who read it. I never knew either grandfather, but I’m married to a fantastic one! Thanks also for the kind words on my page. The poem was written for my children’s column in the newspaper and was intended to be read to children at a time of loss. We lost our editor last week to cancer and it is hard for all of us.

    • I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your editor. I do love your blog and think it is fantastic. I love reading your submitted works and do enjoy commenting on your blog site. Thank you so much for commenting on my blog it is so heart warming and such a sweet comment.

  21. A wonderful memory of someone so close to your heart.
    Lovely,
    Isadora

    My enrty :
    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/sleep-well-my-dear-2/

    I have nominated you for … The Versatile Blogger Award … You can grab your badge at the url below. You do not have to complete the requirements as they can be tedious; unless you’d like to. I feel your writing is outstanding and well deserving of the award despite the requirements. Isadora

    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2011/10/03/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    • Isadora I am so honored that you have done this. I was nominated twice in one day for this award and I am in shock and speachless at the sametime. I will follow the rules and noninate 15 bloggers and go to thank everyone and also notify them and do what is necessary for this award. I hope that I can add both people at the same time considering you both have nonimanted me together. This is a true honor. Thank you so much.

  22. Lovely memories.
    I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Hope you enjoy.
    http://planetcyberluz.com/2011/10/04/versatile-blogger-award/

    • Thank you so much and I am so honored for this you are the second person today to nominate me for this award. I am in shock and so surprised for this award and would like to say thank you so much for this award.

  23. A truly warm and wonderful piece.Reminded me of my own grandfather with whom I grew up with.Taking the role of Father that my own father took for granted.Thank you so much for sharing this.And thank you for dropping by my place,too.

    • You are so welcome June and I am so happy to drop by your blog it is a pleasure to do so and to leave comments. I do enjoy reading all blogs and posting comments on each persons blog site. Thank you so much

  24. The second to last stanza was my favorite.
    Well-conveyed emotions here.

  25. manicddaily said:

    Lovely ending. Isn’t it amazing how photographs can replace physical memories sometimes?

  26. smiles. very nice…made me think of grandparents well past at this point and tender moments…really enjoyed this piece…

  27. I didn’t see my grandparents all that frequently–so it was like getting reacquainted when I did see them. I envy the tender, loving memories you hold for your grandpa. Beautifully expressed.

  28. Beautifully written, a lot of warmth within the words….

    • Thank you so much. I did miss her when she left to have a home of her own and raise her own family. But we are very close and this makes it so nice. I see her now with her family and think I did a good job as a Mother. I know there is always that dark question in the back of your mind did I do a good job and was I a good Mother. Only time can answer this and I did get my answer it was positive as I see her with her own family.

  29. I like the angels dancing in the vision as the persona is falling asleep. Quite a lovely image. You’re lucky to remember your grandfather. Both of mine died when I was very young.

    Thanks for popping by http://www.shawnbird.com/the-patient and leaving a comment on my loss poem, I appreciate it. You may also enjoy the submission on love http://www.shawnbird.com/love-song

  30. this is lovely sarah… and tq for coming by– was a bit busy lol haha!

  31. Hey Sarah, a truly lovely poem. Tigerbrite made an excellent choice for bestowing that award, congratulations.

    I enjoyed these two lines:

    The sky opens up and shines upon me
    As my eyes drift away to the past

    Which I knew my grandmother and had such memories by which to pen poems. But the feeling of what it was like for you, conveyed in this poem, is a great gift. Thank you.

    • Thank you so much. I love to try and express my feelings into each piece that I write. I enjoy telling my stories through poetry now and feel it is a lovely way to express the words into verses and happy or sad feelings depending on what has happened.

  32. very sweet and beautiful.

    you rock.

    🙂

  33. I love my own grandparents, thanks for the amazing reminder.

    🙂

  34. This is a beautiful poem. I find myself grasping at childhood memories much more often now that I have kids. It’s amazing how an old photo or item can trigger such memories and thoughts of the past. Great write. Thanks for sharing!

    • You are very welcome and I am so happy that you read this poem and left such a heart warming comment for me. I do love your blog and glad to stop by and read your poem they are so well done like all that I get a chance to read.

  35. Wow ! How emotive !

  36. This poem is so truly beautiful… what a wonderful tribute!

    • Thank you so much classic NYer and I am so happy that you found this small blog site of mine and dropped by to read this here. Your site was wonderful and hope to see you post more in the up coming weeks

  37. Beautiful. In the memories are what matter.Brought a tear to my eye. =’)

  38. what a fabulous tribute of love. the wealth of memories is unmatched.

    • Thank you Ed yes you are right memories are unmatched to anything else in our life we hold onto them and can think back upon them anytime we want too.

  39. theprecipiceofwes said:

    Memories are like photographs. it is funny as I think about it, if we don’t take them out and view them (reflections and recalling) they do seem to fade and become tattered and worn. But when the emotion hits us and we see the memory clearer, it seems to refresh the image, until the next time we need to view it.

    • You are so right. I think that is why I decided on this name for the poem. Memories and photographs that seemed fitting for this piece and the memories that you see and think back on when you take out an old picture to look at.

  40. You really took me there…

  41. a loving and precious poetic piece! Beautiful imagery and great feeling of nostalgia. I enjoyed the read 🙂

  42. Aw…. I feel all warm and fuzzy inside….

  43. “The tear stained tattered photograph” you write with passion. Love the poem

  44. Photographs are fascinating and so is your poem…

  45. Dear Ann LeFore

    It took me on a nostalgic trip… loved your thoughts about the same.. and i have had written one just like this in my poetry collection Kalina… that I am working on…
    Your lines …

    ‘Memories of holding hands with you
    Picking flowers in the summer grass
    Skipping rocks across the path
    Rolling and tumbling down the hills’

    … are beautiful and full of imagery..

    Thanks for sharing. Look forward to your entry in the coming poetry picnic week 8 theme “Friends, relationship… ”

    Shashi

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/10/whispers-love-and-loss-butterfly.html

  46. Ankoku Hikaru said:

    Great Imagery here, although I cannot quite relate, it still seemed to trigger something inside. Beautifully written. Keep it up!

  47. love the ending… hopeful

  48. :), I love this so much, very precious, and it touched me deeply, thank you so much, very much appreciated, WS

  49. Very Nice Poetry with an amazing Imagination
    Great Work of Creativity !! Highly Expressive !!

    It was indeed enjoyable after reading this one !!

    Anyways, Take a look some of my Poetry Collections …
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/talent-underground/poetry-zone/

    some of my Haiku Collections
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/creative-challenges/the-haiku-challenge/

    and also, on my very recent Work as well
    https://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2011/10/03/dilemma/

    !!! Happy Rally !!!
    Cheers !!

  50. […] nominate SARAH JOHNSTON for the next poetry […]

  51. touching, emotional, enjoyable! 🙂

Leave a Reply

