relax, smile & be inspired

Archive for October 18, 2011

Farewell My Three Legged Friend

Written by Ann LeFlore: for dVerse Open Link Night Week 14. I just recently lost my dog after 11 years. He was a special dog that had only three legs. Five years ago my boyfriend gave me a gift of a small ball of brown fur that had the biggest feet you ever did see. She was a mixture between a German Shepard and Rottweiler. She had the sad eyes of the Rottweiler and grew to be taller than my other dog weighing in at 63 kilo. She is a big dog and it was so much fun to watch her tell my other dog off when he did not come in from the river. Bandit is no longer with us and Naya is lonely and misses him so much. She walks around the yard looking for him and goes over to where his grave is and sits there all day long. This poem is written from Naya to Bandit to tell him good bye. It is a dogs perspective of a best friend.

 

Farewell My Three Legged Friend

When I came to your space
You kept me in my place
You showed me who was boss
But today I am at a loss

You were there all the time
Life with you was all so fine
Chasing coconuts in the lagoon
Watching you bark at the moon

 I was a small bundle of fur
You looked at me with a big gurr
Why did they bring me here
It was hell for you to endure

I grew up so fast and so tall
I was no longer afraid to chase the ball
When we swam in the ocean
I caused such a commotion

 When dinner was served at night
You always left me your last bites
When it rained you had your space
But you were always willing to share your place

 Now today I am so alone
I walk around to sit on your thrown
I go by your place where you are now
I duck my head and give you a bow

Farewell my three legged friend
I will always remember you till the end
I was your Queen and you my King
Until the end I will always wear your ring

Mirror of Truth

Written by Ann LeFlore; for Gooseberry Garden Poetry Picnic Week 9; Longing, Loss, Loosing and Failure. I wrote this poem not of myself but of all women who are abused and feel like they have failed in their life. Women who feel like it is their fault that they are abused and hurt by the ones they love. I had a friend who tried to hide the abuse from her husband for many years until one day she was so badly beaten she could no longer hide this fact. After years of abuse she finally had the courage to pick up the broken pieces of  a  failed life and love and start over again. But in her new life the scares are still there for her to see. She can not run and hide from the past but she sure can start over and make a new life for herself.

Mirror of Truth

I stepped through the looking glass
A journey way into my past
The days before the darkness arose
The time before you started your blows

The sun shined bright and clear
I started my life without a fear
The mountain spread through the valleys
The rivers flowed throughout the lands

Life was so new and still so grand
Until the day you took my hand
You started off with small demands
First it was just one slap of your hand

The days turned into years
The nights I lay and shook with fear
Afraid to see what you had done to me
The blood that spilled I was afraid to see

With a dynamic hit of your hand
You sent me into another land
The blood seeped from my broken skin
I knew this day I could never win

 The years are gone at last
The memories are only of the past
I drug myself off the ground
To close my eyes and follow the sound

I rose up from the ruins of my life
I swore I would never be your wife
The years have come and the years have gone
But in my minds images are the scares from you

Sitting here in front of the glass
I look deep into my past
Realizing I am free at last
My journey now starts down a new path